First Look

MAJ selects new Executive Committee

Media Association Jamaica Limited | 2013-01-16 00:00:00

The Annual General Meeting of the Media Association Jamaica Limited (MAJ) was held on January 8, 2013.  The newly elected Executive Committee and Officers are as follows:-

Christopher Barnes (Gleaner Company) – Chairman
Brian Schmidt (Zip/Irie FM)  – Vice-Chairman
Shena Stubbs-Gibson (Gleaner Company) – Legal Advisor
Moya Thomas (Love FM)
Gary Allen (RJR Group)
Newton James (Power 106 FM)
Danville Walker (Jamaica Observer)
Mark McIntosh (CVM TV)
Andrea Messam (RJR Group) – Treasurer
Claire Grant (Television Jamaica) – Secretary

The MAJ, in 2013, will continue to advocate for agreeable amendments to the country’s Libel and Defamation laws to be passed into law in early 2013. The Association also plans to continue its important discourse with the Minister with responsibility for Information, and the Broadcasting Commission, on the proposed regulatory amendments affecting the broadcast media.   The MAJ will also continue to maintain and develop its relationship with the Advertising Agencies Association of Jamaica and the Press Association of Jamaica, the latter with which the association will work to staunchly defend press freedom in Jamaica.

Posted By :Media Jamaica Limited

Company Name : Media Association Jamaica Limited

Website :

Company Address :

More press release from Media Association Jamaica Limited